Bangkok day 11

Ade Cox
2 min readNov 16, 2018

--

Ade & Jos adventure day 11 : Luke warm tea

A real no news day today… I actually did nothing! Spent the day in the hotel room while Jo went to work… Listened to Queen, watched Youtube videos, messed around on photoshop and watched Man of steel… A totally lazy day.. Had a couple of chats via facebook messenger with friends… One of which who is enjoying my daily updates (wow, isn’t todays a bloody let down!) so much she (may or may not have sarcastically) suggested I could be a writer.. So Sam, I dedicate this one to you.

Went to meet Jo from work at 5pm, got there at 4:50 to get a message from Jo telling me she had a meeting and wouldn’t get out till 5:30… So, I went for a wander up into a part of town i’ve never explored before.. Again, a strange mix of western normality (Starbucks and pizza places) and eastern oddness.. A shack full of people stripping the copper from discarded cables…. Bangkok really does confuse the senses… Visually it’s like two places mixed together and put into one town.. The smells are mixed too.. In one breath you have the delight of freshly cooked food, the next breath you get a whiff of dodgy sewer and car fumes… Bangkok is the capital city of confusion… But despite that, I bloody love the place.

Jo finally finished work and we went over to the supermarket the big “C”.. Originally we went over for something to eat tonight, but ended up coming away with food and a halogen cooker… A walk back to the hotel via the new apartment where we watched an episode of friends and picked up some paperwork from reception.. Back at the hotel my plan of an alcohol free night bit the dust when I poured my first bourbon and coke… Tomorrow will be alcohol free.. I think.

Ate food (MMMmmmm Steak!) and then watched a film.. An attempt at us having a “normal” night… Or as normal as Bangkok will allow.. No plans for tomorrow day time.. I do think we’ll be attending Bangkok Rollerderby tomorrow night tho.. So.. Until tomorrow.. Night night!

--

--

Ade Cox

A working-class man from The Black Country, plucked from the factory and now living the best life in Bangkok